Saturday, September 06, 2014

A Musical Welcome to the New School Year

HSU Music faculty members perform in their annual Welcome Concert to celebrate the new school year on Saturday September 6 in Fulkerson Recital Hall.

 The planned program includes jazz, percussion, original compositions and a tango ballet as well as pieces by Bach, Brahms and Dvorak. This late afternoon event is followed by a reception in the Music Lobby. 

 This concert also welcomes two new Music faculty members: Daniel Colson (bass) and Joel Cohen (cello.) 

 “The opportunity to collaborate is particularly appealing for the performers,” said music professor Elisabeth Harrington. These collaborations begin with Howard Kaufman, Eugene Novotney and David Penalosa combining on a percussion trio by Penalosa. They include an unusual duo of Dan Aldag (trombone) and Gil Cline (trumpet) on the jazz piece “For Dancers Only” by Sy Oliver.

 Quintet in G Major by Antonin Dvorak is performed by Cindy Moyer and Karen Davy on violin, Sherry Hanson on viola, Kira Weiss on cello and Daniel Colson on bass. These five performers also combine on “Tango Ballet” by famed Argentine composer Astor Piazolla. 

 Virginia Ryder (clarinet) and Robin Miller (piano) join Cindy Moyer for a suite by Darius Milhaud. Joel Cohen (cello) and Elena Casanova (piano) perform music by J.S. Bach and Johannes Brahms.

 Vocalist Elisabeth Harrington and pianist John Chernoff combine on two parts of “Reflections in Time,” a composition by HSU Music professor Brian Post that incorporates poems by HSU faculty. Chernoff also plays two other pieces by Post. 

 The 2014 Welcome concert begins at 5 p.m. on Saturday September 6 in Fulkerson Recital Hall on the HSU campus. Tickets are $10 general/$5 seniors, children and students, from the HSU Box Office (826-3928) or at the door. This Faculty Artist Series concert is produced by the HSU Music Department. 

Media: Mad River Union, Eureka Times Standard Urge, HSU Now.

No comments: