Saturday, June 27, 2015

Concert for Harley: The Program

Highlights of the planned program, but there may be surprises!

Two movements from Suite No. 1 by  Sergei Rachmaninoff
 Daniela Mineva, piano
 John Chernoff, piano

 “This is the Moment” from Jekyll and Hyde by  Frank Wildhorn
 John Schutt, tenor
 John Chernoff, piano

“Tomorrow” from Annie  by Charles Strouse
 Alexis Provencal, soprano  

Blues in the Night by  Harold Arlen, Arrangement by Harley Muilenburg
 Catherine Rippetoe, soprano
 Lorena Tamayo, soprano
 Jessie Rawson, alto
 John Chernoff, piano

 Sonata in G Major, Op. 78  by Johannes Brahms
 Vivace ma non troppo  
Cindy Moyer, violin
 Daniela Mineva, piano

Mad River Transit Students and Alumni
 Harley Muilenburg, conductor

 Selections to be chosen from: Sweet in the Mornin’ by Bobby McFerrin,  Loves Me Like a Rock by Paul Simon, After the Gold Rush by Neil Young, And So it Goes by  Billy Joel, A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square by Manning Sherwin, Blackbird by  John Lennon and Paul McCartney, Chile Con Carne by Anders Edenroth, You Are the New Day by  John David, 23rd Psalm by  Bobby McFerrin.

Solos to include: One for my Baby (And One More for the Road) by Johnny Mercer and Harold Arlen
 Grant McKee, tenor

 In My Life by John Lennon and Paul McCartney
Marcie Tatman, soprano

 Haven’t We Met by Kenny Rankin and Ruth Batchelor
Juanita Harris, alto

 Medley of Carl Anderson Favorites:  Sophisticated Lady  by Duke Ellington, My Funny Valentine by  Richard Rogers, Who Can I Turn To? by Leslie Bricusse and Anthony Newley
Daniel Olson, bass

Participating Singers:
 Laura Arrington, Emily Beal, Shannon Dowling, Christina Fitts,   Katrina Eads Haeger,  Juanita Harris,  Heather Hutton, Grant McKee, Steve Nobles, Daniel Olson,  Steve Olson,  Chris Parreira,  Ellen Rosebaugh Petitjean,  Jessie Nicole Rawson, Catherine Rippetoe, Kevin Schieberl,  Molly Severdia,  Lorena Tamayo, Marcie Tatman,  Seanna Willett.

Instrumental accompaniment by John Chernoff (piano),  Ryan Woempner (bass),   Kevin Amos (drums), Ed Pierce (drums.)

No comments: