Sunday, May 11, 2014

Happy Trails! Humboldt Chorale & U Singers in Last Concert of the School Year 

 The Humboldt Chorale ends the final concert of this school year by singing cowboy songs, most with a Humboldt County connection, in their shared concert with HSU University Singers beginning at 8 p.m. on Sunday May 11.

 “We’re starting with ‘Home on the Range’ and ending with ‘Happy Trails,’” said Chorale director Carol Ryder. For her, it’s “happy trails” in more ways than one. “Since it is my last semester at HSU, I thought it would be a great time to celebrate Humboldt County and my own roots in music.”

 "Happy Trails" is of course the tune by Dale Evans Rogers that she sang with cowboy singer, movie and TV star Roy Rogers. But most of the Chorale’s set features cowboy songs with music composed by HSU professor emeritus Jim Standard and current staff pianist John Chernoff. The lyrics are by Gwen Peterson, rancher and cowboy poet. “Gwen is a friend of Jim’s in Montana,” said Ryder,” and a pretty funny woman.”

 In addition to the songs, Humboldt County rancher, designer and HSU professor emeritus Gerald Beck reads from his autobiographical book, To Be A Horseman.

 In their half of the concert, the HSU University Singers perform Gabriel Faure’s complete Requiem. “The singers would like to dedicate the performance of the Requiem to the memory of the young people who tragically lost their lives in a traffic accident in April,” said director Harley Muilenburg.

 The University Singers will also perform 20th century American composer Randall Thompson’s setting of a Robert Frost poem, “Choose Something Like A Star.” Muilenburg dedicates the performance to Carol Ryder, in recognition of her retirement from HSU.

 The University Singers and Humboldt Chorale perform on Sunday May 11 at 8 p.m. in the Fulkerson Recital Hall at HSU. Tickets are $8/$5, free to HSU students with ID, from HSU Ticket Office (826-3928) or at the door.  Produced by HSU Music Department.

2014 University Singers: (not in order pictured; click image to enlarge) Ana Ceja, Berenice Ceja, Hope Botelho, Cat Clark, Emily Cornelus, Kinara Erickson, Alia Fix, Linnea Hillo, Katie Jumper, Stevy Marquez, Danielle Murray, Gabriela Pelayo, Jessie Rawson, Kallie Sorenson, Jessica Golden, Greata Goshorn, Michelle Green, Erica Luna, Katherine McCall, Skyler McCormick, Eve Ellen Mejla, Andrea Ortiz, Eiko Ujifusa, Steven Flores, Nicholas Hart, Victor Guerrero, Bryant Kellison, Kyle McInnis, David Paden, John Pettlon, Leonardo Simmons, Raul Yepez, Alex Albin, Neil Bost, Cliff Bruhn, Braxton Corbin, Charles Hollowell, Kristofer Lang, Joseph Mayer, Alberto Rodriguez, Justin Santos, Eric Taite, Chris Werner, Clayton Willis.

No comments: