Saturday, November 16, 2013

HSU Jazz Combos Program for Nov. 16

The Monday Quintet: Alex Espe, piano; Ari Davie, trumpet; Nick Durant,
tenor sax; Kevin Amos, drums; Ian Taylor, bass.
Five HSU Jazz Combos will present two concerts in Fulkerson Recital Hall on Saturday, November 16 at 8 and 10 p.m. One concert will feature two groups and the other the other three.


 The Wednesday Quintet is Lauren Strella, bari sax; Craig Hull, trombone; Alex Diaz, guitar; Bret Johnson, bass; and Steve Eitzen, drums.
Carla Bley

 They will perform "Drinking Music" by Carla Bley, "Another Way To Die" by Jack White (the theme song to the James Bond film Quantum of Solace) with vocalist Sandy Lindop, "Funk For Your Ass" by Fred Wesley and "Remember" by the group's guitarist, Alex Diaz.

 The Friday Sextet is Monica Dekat, trumpet; Ahtziri Ramirez, flute and steel pan; Sandy Lindop, piano; Nev Mattinson, vibes; Matt Engleman, bass; and Jake Hauk, drums.

They will perform the Skatalites' "Two For One," "Cold Duck Time" by Eddie Harris; the traditional New Orleans tune "St. James Infirmary" and "Paco and Dave" by Paquito D'Rivera and Dave Samuels.

 The Monday Quintet is Ari Davie, trumpet; Nick Durant, tenor sax and clarinet; Alex Espe, piano; Ian Taylor, bass; and Kevin Amos, drums. They will perform "Captain Marvel" by Chick Corea, "Angel Eyes" by Matt Dennis and Dave Brubeck's "Blue Rondo A La Turk."


Chick Corea
The Friday Quintet is Kyle McInnis, alto sax; Josh Foster, trombone; Kris Lang, guitar; Ryan Woempner, bass; and Forrest Smith, drums. Tunes they will perform include "Nica's Dream" by Horace Silver and "Schnell!" by the band's alto saxist, Kyle McInnis.

 The group Bossa Continuo is playing an all-Latin jazz set of "Armando's Rhumba" by Chick Corea, "Agua De Beber" by Antonio Carlos Jobim (with guest performers Jo Kuzelka on vocals and Kris Lang on guitar), "Little Sunflower" by Freddie Hubbard, "Astrud" by Basia Trzetrzelewska and a grand finale of Tito Puente's "El Rey Del Timbal" featuring all of the horn players from the other combos and Jake Hauk & Kevin Amos on percussion.

The members of Bossa Continuo are Erin Laetz, flute, alto flute, and tenor sax; Tyler Burkhart, vibes; Matt Engleman, bass and Thatcher Holvick-Norton, timbales and congas.

--Dan Aldag

No comments: